Tierra del Fuego

Tierra del Fuego is a 150-mile long peninsula off the southern tip of South America, separated from the mainland by the Strait of Magellan. It is divided into Chilean and Argentinean halves, and its principle mountain range, a west-east range known as the Cordillera Darwin, stretches across both halves. The Cordillera is the continuation of the Patagonian Andes, and rises along the southern shore. The range holds beautiful ice-packed and misty mountains, with large glaciers pouring down into the sea. The range is dominated by two high peaks, both situated in the Chilean southwestern portion of the peninsula, within the boundaries of the Parque Nacional Alberto de Agostini. Impressive peaks, beautiful forests, lakes, glaciers, and abundant bird life are highlights of the park. The island is vulnerably situated at the point where two of the world's major oceans meet, and is consequently stormy for much of the year. The city of Ushuaia, Argentina is located on the southern shore, and is the southernmost city in the world. The two dominant peaks of Tierra del Fuego are Monte Darwin (8,163 ft./2,488 m.) and Monte Sarmiento (7,546 ft./2,300 m.).